La La Land Review

Damien Chazelle’s musical ode to classical film making is stylish, driven and wonderfully thought out, making it one of my personal favourite films of all time.

Recently, this film has been very divisive. Upon it’s release, little La La Land was getting rave reviews, but it’s time in the spotlight surrounding the Golden Globes, BAFTAs and the Oscars have let many people to turn on it. Maybe it’s due to La La Land’s transition from a small movie to multi-award winning film that makes people feel it’s “overrated”. That being said, I still think it’s spectacular.

la-la-land-633x356

Everything about this film, I adore. The amazingly catchy score and original songs, the on-screen chemistry of Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, the fantastic cinematography. Watching this film made me remember why I love movies. Damien Chazelle is an extremely talented director, I really enjoyed Whiplash, and I feel like he has an amazing career ahead of him. Some of the long takes in this movie surrounding giant dance numbers are simply amazing to watch and no doubt had a lot of work put into them. Ryan Gosling hasn’t always been one of my favourite actors. But due to both this and The Nice Guys, he has shot right up my list of favourites, he has great comedic timing and his performance in this movie is just really good. Emma Stone gives a great performance also, I’ve heard a lot of people pining over it and saying it’s incredible, but I just think she’s on the same level as Gosling (Then again, maybe that’s just my bias).

LLL d 09 _1798.NEF

Now, I have listened to the soundtrack of this song a bazillion times. Gosling isn’t an experienced singer, and Stone is not a professional, but these two were great in the movie . Gosling did sound a little flat at times, but there’s not much you could do about that, I thought Stone did great for the first singing role I’ve seen of her. But the real star here is Justin Hurwitz. He composed some absolutely fantastic music for this film and I really hope he goes on to do bigger things.

rs-la-la-land-3d3a431a-8329-4539-b953-51e2d61a396c

And again, like I say a lot, this movie isn’t for everyone. I’ve met people who love this movie, that hate musicals. I’ve met people who love musicals, that hate this movie. You can’t really estimate your appreciation of something without giving it a go for yourself. So if you haven’t already seen it, go and see La La Land, and form your own opinion. There are also a few parts that did drag for me, and it feels a tad long, but It didn’t damage the movie for me. I’ve seen La La Land around six times as of this review, and I haven’t enjoyed it any less after each viewing, which is crazy. The ending of this movie, there’s no other way to put it, I think it was a perfect ending. Fantastic. I loved it. Any time a movie can legitimately make me feel something, or affect me in some way, it has succeeded. I can see why some people have been saying they don’t like it, but I think it was realistic and perfect.

lalaland

So in the end, I love this movie, but It’s not for everyone. Chazelle is very talented as a director. Stone and Gosling are both great in this movie. Hurwitz is fantastic. And I really can’t wait to see what these people do in the future.

la-la

One Comment Add yours

  1. Not Zac Hobbis says:

    I really like this review. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

