Manchester By The Sea Review

Two hour and twenty minute runtime and all I can say is: “Well…that was certainly depressing.”

Manchester by the Sea is written and directed by Kenneth Lonergan and stars Casey Affleck. This movie is all about his character, and those close to him, dealing with literally the worst and most depressing series of events ever.

manchesterbythesea_trailer

Firstly, this film has some great performances, and while everyone is mentioning Affleck and Michelle Williams, who are both great, I personally felt that 20-year-old Lucas Hedges was a stand out. There’s almost no complaints you can make about the performances in this movie, other than Affleck’s performance what kind of flat at times. But then again, that’s his character so, there’s not much you can do.

manchester-by-the-sea_group-699

If I had to describe this film, I would say it’s a very slow burn, and while I enjoyed the ride, It all kind of led up to…nothing? I don’t know if that’s just me but when it ended I was just thinking “…is that the end? Huh?”.  It almost felt like something was missing. There are definitely some great things in this movie though. I really enjoyed the jumping from past to present without having to hold the audiences hand, and trusting they’re smart enough to work it out, that was great. And also, as I said above, the acting, so this film isn’t without it’s merits. (The big scene between Affleck and Williams is also fantastically acted).

manchester2

Overall, I don’t think this movie was for me. It wasn’t bad at all, I just wasn’t into the whole concept of Affleck having depression and talking to a bunch of other characters with no emotion for two hours and twenty minutes. There is some fantastic stuff in this movie, but personally, I overall found it pretty forgettable.

manchester

One Comment Add yours

  1. Not Zac Hobbis says:

    I’m not sure how I felt about the ending. Food for thought I guess. Thank you for the review, very insightful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

